Skip to content

Black Russian Cake

06/28/2013

I believe a cake exists for the main purpose of being used as a vessel to get the yummy buttercream frosting into my mouth.  I love square cakes because there’s four corners and if I’m lucky enough I’ll get one of the corners which means MORE FROSTING!  But this Black Russian Cake is the one exception to my rule.  I love this cake.  Even if it doesn’t have my beloved frosting on top!  I’ve been making this cake for years and have no idea where I first got the recipe. But a quick search around the internet proves its been around for a long time.  So if you want a really, really great dessert, make this cake, NOW!  Everyone will love it.

BlackRussianCake5

BLACK RUSSIAN CAKE

 1 box yellow cake mix (w/o pudding if you can find it)

6 oz. box instant chocolate pudding

1/3 C. sugar

1 C. vegetable oil

4 eggs

3/4 C. water

1/4 C. vodka

1/4 C. Kahula

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a bundt pan with Pam or your preferred method of greasing a cake pan.  Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix with hand mixer for about 2 – 3 minutes on medium speed.  Pour batter in prepared bundt pan.  Bake 45 minutes. Let cool about 10-15 then invert on serving platter.  Drizzle glaze on top of warm cake.  Then, if you’re like me, you’ll drizzle more glaze on top again when it has cooled completely.

KAHULA GLAZE

1/2 C. powdered sugar

1/4 C. Kahula

Blend together powdered sugar and Kahula to make a glaze.  Pour over warm cake.  When cake is cooled you can garnish with berries and sprinkle powdered sugar on top if you want to make it look pretty…or just dig in and enjoy!

BlackRussianCake3

From → Cook Something

One Comment
  1. Joyce Gomez permalink

    I had 2nds and perhaps 3rds of this…it was DELICIOUS! A little different then my recipe.

Leave a Reply

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

Sarah Linden

Food Photographer and Stylist

I'm Bored, Let's Go...

Cook Something, Drink Something, Do Something

Healthy Eats For All

Eat Well Feel Good!

Veganosity

Healthy Vegan Food That Tastes Good

