Skip to content

Greek Inspired Leftover Salad

06/23/2013

I don’t know what my problem is.  I have been an “empty nester” for several years now.  My husband travels every week.  And yet, I still buy too much food!  I can’t help myself.  I love to grocery shop.  But I don’t like having to run out and pick up a few items last minute when I want to throw together dinner.  So I usually stock up on way too many vegetables, then throw a bunch away when they get yucky.  This afternoon my husband and I were sitting in the backyard pondering what we should have with the grilled lamb chops we planned on making for dinner tonight.  I really wanted some artichokes or asparagus but I didn’t have any.  And since we won’t be home for dinner for the next couple days, I didn’t want to run out and buy more food at the store.  It was time to use up what we already had.

Food challenge of the day:  Make something up from cleaning out the fridge!

I found a zucchini, some baby potatoes, baby carrots, half a jar of Hearts of Palm, some Kalamata olives, some grape tomatoes that were starting to shrivel (but still edible!), a few random scallions, red bell pepper, some parsley and basil and a tub of feta cheese.  All that sounded a little Greek to me so I set about making a Greek inspired side dish/salad.

I cut up the potatoes, carrots, red bell pepper and zucchini, tossed them in some Meyer Lemon Olive Oil and Cavender’s Greek Seasoning and roasted them at 425 degrees for 15 minutes.  While the vegetables were roasting, I sliced the Hearts of Palm, cut the olives and tomatoes in half, sliced the scallions and chopped the herbs.  I also had some oregano outside in a pot so I chopped up some of that too.

When the vegetables finished roasting I let them cool, added them to a bowl with the other ingredients, tossed in the feta cheese and some toasted pine nuts I had in the freezer.  I also added a little bit (about 2 tablespoons) of some greek salad dressing I had in the fridge.

Result:  SUCCESS!  And it’s nice to know I used up some veggies that otherwise would probably have gone in the trash in a couple of days.

Stay tuned…. up next the very best grilled lamp chops ever!

From → Cook Something

3 Comments
  1. Ginger permalink

    Looks great!

  2. Lexie permalink

    This looks excellent!

  3. Rusty LaCoss permalink

    Looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

Sarah Linden

Food Photographer and Stylist

I'm Bored, Let's Go...

Cook Something, Drink Something, Do Something

Healthy Eats For All

Eat Well Feel Good!

Veganosity

Healthy Vegan Food That Tastes Good

