Skip to content

Watermelon Salad

06/17/2013

I still had some leftover watermelon from my Watermelon Gazpacho (and my Watermelon Martini) so it was time to make a Watermelon Salad to go with my husband’s famous rotisserie chicken he makes on the grill.  I tell you guys, he makes the BEST chicken ever!!!  All he does is smother it with a bunch of Old Bay Seasoning, garlic powder, seasoned salt or whatever other spices he decides to shake on the chicken and it turns out perfect every single time.  It must be all the love and attention he pays to the grill while it’s cooking.  And he never overcooks it!  You know what I mean, all those people who think chicken has to be cooked so long so they don’t get sick that you practically end up with chicken jerky.  Well I’m here to say that I have yet to get sick off any of his chickens and he takes it off the grill at no more than 160, maybe even 158 and lets it sit a bit.  Perfection!!!

Mark checking on his chickens

Mark checking on his chickens

Okay, so back to the watermelon salad…

Now I know what you’re thinking…this recipe is nothing new, you’ve seen it around before.  Well, you’re probably right.  I’ve been making this salad for several years now and I was told how to make it by my dear friend, Therese.  She’s a fabulous cook by the way.  I’m sure the internet is full of Watermelon Salad recipes, but I’ve never searched for a recipe because how Therese told me to make it was awesome enough for me.  I think some people may be skeptical at first…”Feta with Watermelon?” but it really is a tasty combination.  Adding the mint and lime juice makes it a perfect summer salad when you want something a little more fancy than just watermelon chunks.  And, your guests will love it too, trust me on this one.

A perfect summer salad

A perfect summer salad

WATERMELON SALAD WITH MINT AND LIME

1/2 Watermelon, cut into bite sized chunks

1/4 c. chopped Mint

1 Lime, juiced

1/2 c. crumbled Feta cheese

Cut up watermelon into bite sized chunks and put in a bowl and let it sit in the fridge for several hours (you could do this in the morning even).  This will let the water seep out of the watermelon and is very important so it’s not soggy.  Prior to preparing and serving the salad, drain excess water.  Add a bunch of chopped mint and lime juice to taste.  Toss in crumbled Feta cheese and voila, your done!  It’s delicious!

*It should be noted that I don’t really measure the ingredients for this salad, just go more by looks and taste. But these proportions should be a good starting point.  It’s very forgiving so you really can’t go wrong!

From → Cook Something

2 Comments
  1. Ginger permalink

    Judy has made this salad for me. Very refreshing, I can attest to its deliciousness.

  2. tracy pimpo permalink

    One of my fave Judy recipes! I have passed it on to many!!!

Leave a Reply

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

Sarah Linden

Food Photographer and Stylist

I'm Bored, Let's Go...

Cook Something, Drink Something, Do Something

Healthy Eats For All

Eat Well Feel Good!

Veganosity

Healthy Vegan Food That Tastes Good

